RSS

Watch Me, Daddy!

26 May

My kids are at really fun ages. I know it won’t last forever, so I’m trying to take advantage of every second that I have. Whenever I get a chance, I love to get out with them and just spend time having fun together.

Taking both of them to the park by myself can be somewhat challenging, especially for a guy who absolutely cannot, under any circumstance whatsoever, multitask. Unfortunately, my children do not realize that I lack this super-human “mom” power. As soon as we arrive, they both take off in full sprint for the area of the park that they like best, which usually means going to completely opposite sides of the playground.

Of course they instantly battle for my attention. It doesn’t matter if one is on the slide and the other is on the swing, they both get into position and yell, “Watch me, daddy!” I usually have to prioritize and figure out which one is most likely to get hurt and make that my strategic position to try and watch them both.

The other day I was in the house with Norah, and even though her brother wasn´t in the room at the time she said, ¨Hey,daddy, watch me.¨ I looked at her and she just stood there staring at me with a smile, trying to think of something to do. She didn’t have a plan. All she wanted was my attention. When she plays she wants me to watch her have fun, when she talks she just wants me to listen, and when she’s hurt she wants me to comfort her. She needs to know that I am there for her.

We have a Father who is constantly watching over us. He never has to prioritize and work hard at dividing His attention between all of His children. It should be comforting to know that the Lord sees us and that He is always there for us (check out Matthew 6).

The only time that my children don’t want me to watch them is when they are doing something that they know is wrong. But even when chastisement comes they seem to understand that it’s out of love, and I even believe they draw some comfort in knowing that there is some order in their vulnerable life. It is true that the Lord chastises His children, but only to restore them to fellowship (Hebrews 12:6). He is not some abusive slave driver looking for an opportunity to unleash His wrath.

I love the way that 2 Chronicles 16:9 puts it, “For the eyes of the Lord run to and fro throughout the whole earth, to show himself strong in the behalf of them whose heart is perfect toward him.” He is watching over us and looking for an opportunity to show himself strong on the behalf of His people. We can relax and find joy in knowing that He will never leave us nor forsake us. The Lord is there and wants us to enjoy life in His presence, talk to Him about whatever is on our mind, and know that He will take care of us even when we fall and get hurt.

 
3 Comments

Posted by on May 26, 2011 in General, Personal Notes

 

3 responses to “Watch Me, Daddy!

  1. Jimmy Howell

    May 26, 2011 at 8:33 am

    Loved your post Bro Tyler. You are so right, glad to serve a living God that cares about our every situation. Thank you for this reminder, May God Bless you and your family

     
  2. Ryan Cummins

    May 26, 2011 at 11:15 am

    Hope things are going well for you guys. Soon I will be hearing “daddy, Watch me”…we are expecting our first in Nov

     
    • Tyler

      May 26, 2011 at 4:15 pm

      Awesome! Congratulations. We’re excited for you guys.

       

Leave a comment